Winners July 21, 2012

Winners July 21, 2012

Due to a computer glitch, the results and in depth story of Saturday night’s racing were lost. I guess it went over the turn 3 wall into cyber space. So…here is a shortened version of all the results for Sat. the 21st. The first set of results is for feature makeup races in four classes due to a rainout earlier in this month.

Makeup Feature for the IMCA modifieds: The win was the first for this young man in a modified feature. Michael Higgins took it down by working his way past 4 others and holding off J.C. Parmaley of Tucson, Az. Parmaley is the current leader in the nation for Rookie of the year honors in IMCA modifieds. Finishing 3rd was Reagan Tafoya followed by Allen Bradley, Danny Bradford, Alex Kennedy, Bob Harter, Zach Hamilton, Mark Rodgers and Julian Garcia.

In the Southern sport modified feature, Ryan Henley held off Ace Eavenson for the win. Following Ace across for 3rd was Bobby Rivas who lead the first 9 laps. In fouth was Brandon Tenski, Tony Hill, Kristi Tenski, Jordan Eddleman, RL Henley, JC Yates, Roger Cordary, Brian Carey, Dakota Kibel, Julie Boettler and Bill Dowdy. Boettler and Dowdy were eliminated in a turn 4 crash on the first lap. Boettler’s car appears to be total loss. Drivers were ok.

In the mini stocks, Tom Gallagher moved through the field to dominate this feature. In 2nd was Tom Dutton followed by William Millard, Nicole Champlin, Breezie Hopper, Vance Millard, John Kester and the Michael Cody in the only Hornet.

The hobby makeup feature was short and short of cars too. Randy Dorsett beat Amador Milliano in a good duel to the flags. In third was Darrell Cordary followed by Kris Faddis and Jim Griffin.
That’s the makeup races….now we move on to a regular racing format for Sat. night.

Another young man took down his first win in a 25 lap IMCA modified feature. Alex Kennedy won his first race on dirt in his #61 modified. Kennedy started from the front row and held off challenges by Danny Bradford in the final laps and earlier challenges by Zach Hamilton and Allen Bradley. Bradford did take 2nd with Hamilton 3rd. In fourth was Regan Tafoya and Bradley was 5th. The rest ran like this: Andy Goodenough, Michael Higgins, J.C. Parmaley, Charlie Felker, Mark Rodgers, and Julian Garcia. Rodgers was driving Matthew Higgins #74 as he had popped another motor earier in the night.

The IMCA Souther sport modified 25 lap feature was won by Brian Carey in a close one over Tony Hill. A nice 3rd was scored by RL Henley with Ace Eavenson next followed by Jordan Eddleman in 5th. Dakota Kibel was 6th followed by Brandon Tenski, Bobby Rivas, Ryan Henley (broken tie rod), Dakota Kibel, John Leeds, JC Yates, Dakota McAdam, and Ross Whipple.

The IMCA 25 lap feature was won by Shane Devilbiss as he took the lead away from Jeramey Bradley on lap 3 and stayed in front with nobody challenging. Second went to Frankie Hendershot with Jeramey hanging in for 3rd. In 5th was Danny Stevenson followed by Richard Trujillo, Travis Southerlin, Steffan Carey, Kenny Hendershot, Luke Rowe, Race Fisher, Rex Higgins (broke), Larry Bradley, and David Phillips.

The mini feature was won by Breezie Hopper. Breezie lead every lap for the win and her dad, Tim Hopper of Texas, was here to watch. In 2nd was Tom Gallagher, Vance Millard, Tom Dutton, John Kester, and the Hornet driven this time by Robert Cody.

The hobby feature was won by Amador Milliano with Darrell Codary 2nd, Randy Dorsett 3rd, Kris Faddis 4th and Jim Champlin 5th.

To top off the night, seven ladies came out to drive the stock cars in a powder puff derby. The “Queen of powder puff derbys” won again…Maygen Carey driving the familiar Wittens Warriors #3 traded the lead (and a little paint) with Debra Phillips in the #93. Carey took over late in the race to notch another win. Phillips was 2nd with Pam Southerlin a competitive 3rd. In fourth was Tamara Howerton in the #05. Fifth went to LouEllen Bradley in the #25 with Laura Trujillo in the #82 next followed by Becky Higgins in the ak47. Becky had to retire the car on lap 5 with mechanical troubles.

And that put an end to a very busy and fun night of racing at Aztec Speedway. We’ll race again this coming Saturday at 7pm.

Listen in on 92.9 KRWN FM for “Racin’ with Lynn” at 5pm on Saturday. A one-hour show with various guests from the racing family at Aztec Speedway.

Comments are closed.